Today we went to Fanar Islamic Cultural Center. They are a charitable religious organization that aim to inform both Muslims and non Muslims about Islam. Fanar means “guiding light” in Arabic.

The entrance to the Fanar Islamic Center

The entrance to the Fanar Islamic Center

DSCN1807

DSCN1808

We started out the tour in a traditional Qatari sitting room. We were told that families would often have a room like this that they would host guests in. Once a guest has been welcomed into this room, they are always welcome to come back whenever they please. If the guest visits during a meal time, they can expect to be fed. It was interesting to see what the old traditional homes looked like and how they were decorated.

The middle area is where food would be made and hookah coals would be kept.

The middle area is where food would be made and hookah coals would be kept.

The ceilings used to be draped with blankets like a tent.

The ceilings used to be draped with blankets like a tent.

The traditional sitting room. This would be used for entertaining guests.

The traditional sitting room. This would be used for entertaining guests.

The mosque was beautiful. Again, there are no words for the architecture. I continue to be amazed.

The entrance to the mosque.

The entrance to the mosque.

The women in the group needed to wear abayas and head scarves to go into the mosque. It was fun to literally step into the shoes of women who wear abayas on a regular basis, even if just for a little while. How do you think I look? 🙂

How do I look? Women must wear hijab and an abaya before entering the mosque.

How do I look? Women must wear hijab and an abaya (black dress) before entering the mosque.

Afterwards the group went back to the Iraqi restaurant, again. The manager knows us personally, and is always very welcoming. The first time we were there, he gave us free appetizers and desert, and he did the same thing today.

I had grapeleaves for my main course, taking a chance on the Iraqi recipe  It was good, but the manager was insistent that I needed more meat for my main course, and eventually brought out shish-kabobs for me (on the house). The level of hospitality I have received in this country will be missed.

My instructor, Imed, and I eating at the Iraqi restaurant.

My instructor, Imed, and I eating at the Iraqi restaurant.